

BHARATHIDASAN UNIVERSITY

Tiruchirappalli - 620024, Tamil Nadu, India

Programme: FIVE-YEAR INTEGRATED M.A. HISTORY

Course Title: HISTORY OF INDIA FROM INDEPENDENCE TO

1984 C.E.

Course Code: CC10

Unit-I

India after Independence: Interim Government – Integration of Princely States

Dr. T. ASOKAN,
Professor & Head
Department of History

Interim Government

Members of the Cabinet Mission

- Lord Pethick-Lawrence
- Sir Stafford Cripps
- A. V. Alexander

Interim Government

On 2nd September 1946, the Interim
 Government of India was formed to oversee the
 transition of the country from a British colony to
 an independent republic.

- The Interim Government was formed as a provisional government between an imperial structure and a democratic structure.
- It lasted till 15th August 1947 when India became independent and was partitioned into India and Pakistan.
- This Interim Government was formed from the Constituent Assembly which was elected in August 1946.

- The election to the Constituent Assembly was not direct and representatives were elected by the provincial assemblies.
- In these elections, the Indian National Congress (INC) won around 69% of the seats and had a majority. The Congress Party won 208 seats and the Muslim League won 73 seats.
- In the Interim Government, the Viceroy's
 Executive Council was equivalent to the position of Council of Ministers which acted as the executive.

- Jawaharlal Nehru became its Vice President and served as the de-facto Prime Minister.
- Even though the Muslim League refused to be a part of the Interim Government, insisting on their demand for a separate nation, it eventually became a part of it.
- In Muhammad Ali Jinnah's words, the League was "going into the Interim Government to get a foothold to fight for... the cherished goal of Pakistan."

Members of the Interim Government

- President of the Executive Council (Viceroy and Governor-General of India): Viscount Wavell (till February 1947); Lord Mountbatten (from February 1947)
- Commander-in-Chief: Sir Claude Auchinleck

 Vice President, Also in charge of External Affairs and Commonwealth Relations: Jawaharlal Nehru

- Home Affairs, Information and Broadcasting:
 Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
- Agriculture and Food: Rajendra Prasad
- Commerce: Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar
- Defence: Baldev Singh
- Finance: Liaquat Ali Khan
- Education and Arts: C Rajagopalachari
- Health: Ghazanfar Ali Khan

Labour: Jagjivan Ram

- Law: Jogendra Nath Mandal
- Railways and Communications, Post and Air:
 Abdur Rab Nishtar
- Works, Mines and Power: C H Bhabha

Integration of Princely States

Indian Independence Act of 1947

 It gave princely states an option to accede to the newly born dominions India or Pakistan or continue as an independent sovereign state.

• Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (India's first deputy prime minister and the home minister) with the assistance of V.P. Menon (the secretary of the Ministry of the States) was given the formidable task of integrating the princely states.

Major Princely States

Travancore

 The Dewan of Travancore, Sir C.P. Ramamswamy Aiyar declared his intention of forming an independent state of Travancore.

 Later, he changed his mind after he survived an assassination attempt by a member of the Kerala Socialist Party. Hence, Travancore joined India.

Jodhpur

- This Rajput princely state has a large Hindu population with a Hindu king, Maharaja Hanvant Singh.
- Jinnah reported to have given the Maharaja a signed blank sheet of paper to list all his demands.
- Seeing the risks in the border state acceding to Pakistan, Patel immediately contacted the prince and offered him sufficient benefits.
- On 11th August 1947, Hanvant Singh signed the Instrument of Accession and the State of Jodhpur was integrated into the Indian Dominion.

Bhopal

 Muslim Nawab, Hamidullah Khan was ruling over a majority Hindu population.

 He was a close friend of the Muslim League and staunchly opposed the Congress rule.

 By July 1947, the Prince became aware of the large number of princes who had acceded to India and decided to join India.

Junagadh

- The princely state, situated on the southwestern end of Gujarat.
- Nawab Mahabat Khanji III chose to accede to Pakistan.
- The government pointed out that the state was 80% Hindu, and called for a plebiscite to decide the question of accession.
- On 26 October 1947, the Nawab and his family fled to Pakistan following clashes with Indian troops.
- On November 7, 1947 Junagadh's court, facing collapse, invited the Government of India to take over the State's administration.

14

Hyderabad

- Nizam Mir Usman Ali ruled over a largely Hindu population demand for an independent state.
- Armed fanatics called Razakars unleashed violence targeted at Hyderabad's Hindu residents.
- On September 13, 1948, Indian troops were sent to Hyderabad under 'Operation Polo'.
- The Indian army gained full control of the state and Hyderabad became the integral part of India.

Kashmir

- It was a princely state with a Hindu king ruling over a predominant Muslim population.
- The ruler of Kashmir Maharaja Hari Singh of Dogra dynasty had offered a proposal of standstill agreement to both India and Pakistan.
- Pakistan entered into the standstill agreement but it invaded the Kashmir.
- The Maharaja of Jammu and Kashmir appealed to India for help.
- On 26th October 1947, Maharaja Hari Singh fled from Srinagar and arrived in Jammu where he signed an 'Instrument of Accession' of J&K state.

